FAQ

If you did not see your question in the list above please contact us.

How can I register?

Online registration is available for healthcare professionals who choose to receive health alerts. Click the "Register Now" button on the home page to begin the registration process.

Back to top

What type of information do I need to provide to register with this System?

When you register, you will need to agree to the terms of service, and then will be asked to provide information specific to you and your preferred method of communication.

Back to top

Is my information safe?

Every possible step relating to data integrity and security is taken by the staff in order to prevent abuse and protect participants' privacy. Please review the Privacy Policy and contact us if you would like further information.

Back to top

How can I change information that I provide on my account registration?

Once you have completed the registration process, you will be able to log in to your account using your username and password to update your account information.

Back to top

Who can see my personal information?

You can see your own information and manage your own account. The administrator of your unit can also see and manage your information. Your information is not viewable by other users registered in the system.

Back to top

Can I hide my personal information like my phone number?

You cannot hide your personal information. Your information is only viewable by you and the administrator(s) of your unit.

Back to top

What are the Categories of Health Alert messages?

Health Alert: conveys the highest level of importance; warrants immediate action or attention.

Health Advisory: provides important information for a specific incident or situation; may not require immediate action.

Health Update: provides updated information regarding an incident or situation; unlikely to require immediate action.

Health Information: Provides general health information which is not considered to be of an emergent nature.

Back to top

How do I navigate the new HAN system?

When you are signed in, there is a Help Center at the top right of the page. The Help Center provides Online Help, Video Help and Quick Reference Guides.

Back to top

Who do I contact if I have any questions on using the new HAN system?

Go to the Help Center at the top right of the HAN screen to see if your question can be answered there. Otherwise, you can select the "Contact Us" link at the bottom of the screen to ask your question.

Back to top

If I already responded to an alert that I received, do I still need to respond in my Messages Inbox?

No, you do not need to respond to the message in your internal (HAN) Inbox if you have already responded to an alert.

Back to top

What are the differences between General Messages and PHIN (Direct and Cascade)?

General messaging are messaging without using any of the PHIN attributes.

PHIN (Direct and Cascade) are messaging using the PHIN attributes. PHIN (Public Health Information Network) provides compliant messages that meet the requirements of federal alerting and notification as outlined in the CDC PHIN Partner Communications and Alerting (PCA) guide.

Back to top

How can I view the message I sent?

From the Sent tab, open the message for which you would like to view the sent message. You should see the Message Summary, Recipient Statistics, Delivery Statistics, etc. Selecting the Total Recipients under Message Details will display the actual sent message details.

Back to top

How can I export a hard copy of my sent messages?

From the Sent tab, open the message for which you would like to export the call info. You should see the Message Summary, Recipient Statistics, Delivery Statistics, etc. From the action menu in the top right corner, select Export then choose the Export Type (CSV or PDF) and Report Contents and click Export. This will export the details of the message rather than all of the profile info for the recipients of the message. If you export while you are on the Recipients screen viewing the list of recipients and their individual responses, this will export the recipients' profile info.

Back to top

How can I save my sent message as a template?

If you are viewing the sent message from the Sent tab, you can choose "Save as Template" from the action menu in the top right corner. Selecting that option will take you to the Templates tab where all of the options you chose in that Sent message are pre-populated. You can edit them if necessary or save the Template as-is and it will save all of the options (except for the list of recipients) that you used in the previous Sent message. Be sure to add your organization to the template. This will give permission for other administrations in your organization to have access to the template.

Back to top

How can I review ALL of the attributes I selected on a previous message, instead of just an abbreviated selection of them?

All of the options you choose should be visible when viewing the sent message. If you do not choose certain options, they will not show up. For example, if you do not check any of the "recontact" boxes, those options don't show up in the summary when you are looking at the sent message. Likewise, if you only send a long message (e.g., Email) the Short Message field doesn't show up in the summary when viewing the sent message.

Back to top

Why does the response requested include 800# and ID as required for users to receive their message?

If the sender set the "Request a response?" to Yes, then the message will include the 800# and ID# at the bottom of the message with the options for responding. If it is set to No, then the 800# and ID# are not appended to the bottom of the message.

Back to top

What can senders or users do to avoid the 800# and ID#?

The reason the 800# and ID# are included in the voicemail is so that the recipient can call back and listen to the entire message. You'll notice in the message that it says to call the number and use the ID# to "retrieve" the message and doesn't necessarily indicate that you need to call the number to respond to the message.

Back to top

If I select "no" to "Request a response?" when I send an alert, I do not see the options that I selected when I review my alert.

The Sent Message details on the message don't blatantly indicate whether you chose Yes or No for "Request a response." However, you can tell by the Recipient Stats section of the Sent message. In that table the response options you chose will show up under the Recipient Group column. For example, if you said Yes to "Request a response?" and the two response options you provided were "I'm available" and "I'm not available", then those two options would show up in Recipient Stats under Recipient Group along with "Message Delivered, No Response", "Delivery Failed", and "Total." If you selected No for "Request a response?" then the only options that show up under Recipient Group will be "Message Delivered, No Response", "Delivery Failed", and "Total."

Back to top

How can I download a CSV file with all the registered users for my organization?

Currently, you can export the Accepted members of an organization to a CSV file, but you cannot export the Pending, Researching, and Rejected members. To export the Accepted members:

  • Navigate to the Administration > Export tab
  • Click Request New Export button
  • Choose Standard for Export Type, and Basic for Export Format. For the Recipients to Export drop down, select "By Search" and click the Add Recipients by Search button
  • When the Search page opens, click the Organization Selection button under the Memberships section of the search page.
  • Check the name of your organization then click Select.
  • Click Search at the bottom of the search page. This will find all of the Accepted members of your organization.
  • On the results page use the Check All drop down in the top left to select all across all pages. Click Submit at the bottom of the page.
  • This will take you back to the Export page with all Accepted members selected. Click Export to export the members to a CSV file.

Back to top